Snappy thinking about academia, science, atheism, and politics.

Ode to Summer

The advent of warm weather is reminding me of how much I love it. My mood is attuned to the temperature – cold days leave me feeling subtly introverted, while hot days give me an almost delirious sense of happiness. Walking outside into heat…delicious, enveloping heat…it feels like drowning in bliss.

But I think the temperature I like the best is right around 72 degrees F. This is the temperature at which I feel nothing. My skin doesn’t feel hot or cold. It’s like I don’t even exist. I am in perfectly in balance with the whole world..kinda like my legs just sprouted out of the ground.

Days like that make me so glad I decided to stay in California. I honestly wonder if I could be happy anywhere that was cold most of the time.

PS: trying this BEDA thing (Blog Every Day in April). We’ll see how it goes…

Leave a comment